Skip to content

sisters & sparrows

Poetry. Photography. Life.

{images by Eva Lindh}

 

After reading Miel et Cannelle’s fascinating interview post, I thought I’d volunteer!  She’s given me the most loveliest questions ever and I’m so excited about this post.  Now I want some of you bloggers who read fishing for beautiful to pick up the gauntlet, ok?  Here are the rules:

1. If you want to participate, leave me a comment saying, “Interview me.” (And your e-mail address, please.)
2. I will respond by emailing you five questions. I get to pick the questions.
3. You will update your blog with the answers to the questions.
4. You will include this explanation and an offer to interview someone else in the same post.
5. When others comment asking to be interviewed, you will ask them five questions.

 
Here are the questions A sent me:
 
1. You’re blog tells us all about your incredible style, but not much about you! What are you studying in school? What do you hope to do career wise? What put you on that path?
Well for a start, many thanks for saying I have incredible style!  I’m not sure if it really counts in the Real World, since what I blog about and what I actually wear/buy/own is somewhat different.
At the moment I’m in the upper sixth, so studying for A Levels (and it’s foul.  Really foul).  My subjects are English Literature, History and French.  Literature is my thing, I think.  I absolutely love reading and – perhaps most of all – discussing my ideas and thoughts with others.  I love Elizabeth I, love Marie-Antoinette, love Paris, love croissants.  My french accent is pretty darn good but I’m awful at grammar.  My essays are hit and miss: sometimes they’re brilliant (if I do say so myself) and sometimes they are truly awful.
Career wise, I have no clue.  Maybe editing?  Publishing?  MI6?  Who knows!  But I think i’d really want to be a mother, a grandmother.  That would be a great career for me.    
 
2. You haven’t been blogging for too long now – what made you start a blog? What keeps you blogging?
I started blogging because I was just too inspired to keep it all in anymore.  Because I couldn’t tell anyone I knew about the clothes, or the art, the photography that I liked (they just couldn’t be interested).  I was driven to it.  Also I’d been reading blogs for quite a while, and I loved the way bloggers write; they’re so warm and witty.  It seemed like there was a lot of friendship and sharing going on and I wanted a piece of it.
And I keep blogging because I haven’t yet stopped finding beautiful things.  Will I ever?  
 
3. We’re in a time of economic turmoil.. great. If somebody gave you 100$ to spend purely on a luxury, what would it be?
This is a difficult one!  100$…  I think it would have to be something I could share with a few favourite friends.  Spending 100$ on myself would seem a bit indulgent.  The best things are the things that can be shared.  So maybe a really fantastic meal, with loads of super exotic delicacies.  Maybe a lovely relaxing spa treatment.  Or hiring a great car and driving to the top of a hill with wonderful views and cracking open champagne and eating strawberries on a red checked rug.  That’d be good.  
 
4. If you could invite 5 bloggers to dinner, who would they be and why?
I’d invite Garance Doré, because she seems to me so quintessentially Parisian in every way: it would be lovely to hear the french accent and absorb her Paris glow.  I think she’d have some brilliant stories to tell about the things she’s done and the people she’s met.  I’d invite Agathe from Style Bytes, even though she doesn’t blog anymore, just because I miss her updates and I feel like I need to catch up with her.  She has the most amazing sense of style, so I’d love some of her hints and tips!  I’d invite Kathryn from Snippet and Ink because she’d have so many romantic, feelgood tales to tell.  I’d invite Peonies and Polaroids because I would be able to pester her to tell me all about her home, Scotland, where I hope to live next year (later this year! agh!).  And I’d invite A from Miel et Cannelle.  We could discuss philosophy and moan about essays and swap stories about our travels.
 
5. What is one of the best meals you’ve eaten? Where, why, and what was it?
Ok, this really is impossible.  I might be able to narrow it down to two maybe, or three.
One of them is in Thailand, on a wooden pier looking out to sea, at sunset.  It was a fish restaurant in Hua Hin, 2005.  I had seabass.  While we were eating, a boy came round selling offerings of rosebuds and jasmine buds.  I bought one and put it in my hair with an orchid. 
Another is Poland.  We were travelling between a seaside town, Łeba, and Krakow, and we stopped off at a little farm overnight.  We were the only ones staying there.  We had lovely, homemade Polish food for tea – pierogi, i think, and barszcz (that’s dumplings and beetroot soup to you and me) – accompanied by the farmer playing his accordion for background music.  When we complimented him on the food and the playing he brought his daughter out to play flute, and then sent his wife outside.  She was ages, and we were wondering where she’d got to when she came back with fresh, frothy, warm milk for us.
The last is Italy – eating just inside the walls of a medieval town, outside, fresh pasta, fresh everything, free limoncello.  Down the road the town band was practising for a festa later in the week.  Fantastic!
Thanks A for your challenging and fun questions!  
If any of you guys fancy answering some get in touch and I’ll try to pick really good ones.
 
